Mr Bill Woodhouse of Gunns Plains discovered Gunns Plains Cave in 1906 during a hunting trip. The cave consists of a series of caverns and short passages through which visitors are escorted along well lit concrete pathways.
The cave entrance is situated 30 metres from the car park. Upon entry a steep flight of 54 concrete steps are descended and from this point the pathway is fairly level apart from a short ladder to be climbed down. The tour route through the cave is some 275 metres long. Occasional dampness underfoot is not troublesome provided visitors wear low-heeled walking shoes. It is not recommended for those with health or mobility concerns.
The cave was formed by an underground river that still flows and contains Giant Freshwater Lobster, fish and eel. Platypus sleep and nest in the sandy banks along the river. Lofty chambers contain many varied formations including magnificent calcite shawls.
“The cave is renowned for its magnificent shawl and flowstone formations and the recent improvements will assist visitors to enjoy the cave experience.”
Gunns Plain Cave is open daily (closed Christmas Day) from 1000 to 1630. For further information on tour times, please phone (03) 6429 1388.
Follow and like Tasmania's North West
Facilities found here